Every state has its own towing laws; boat owners, RV campers and even people moving their home ignore these at their own peril. Common sense dictates a number of Texas laws, and most towers will not be affected by any but the basics. According to Towing World, drivers in Texas can operate up to 25,999 lbs. of towing vehicle without a special license, but once the setup exceeds or equals 26,000 lbs., a class-B noncommercial driver's license is necessary.

Safety Equipment

Among the more self-explanatory towing laws in Texas (section 545.409 of the transportation code) is that the connection between the towing and the towed must be strong enough to pull the trailer's entire weight. It also must not be more than 15 feet long, unless it's so built-in that it can be considered "structural." The law requires drivers to highlight the tow bar with a white flag or cloth. Safety chains of sufficient strength and flares or warning signs are required under section 545.410, as are breakaways on trailers over 3,000 lbs. Trailers weighing more than 4,500 lbs. need brakes; no such requirement exists for towed cars.


In Texas, a towing vehicle can be no taller than 14 feet and no wider than 8 1/2 feet. The trailer can be no taller than 14 feet, no wider than 8 feet 6 inches, and no longer than 45 feet. The combined length may be no longer than 65 feet. Motorhomes can be no longer than 45 feet long, with a two-vehicle length no longer than 65 feet.


No more than three vehicles can be towed behind one tow vehicle using the "saddle-mount" method, whereby the front wheels are mounted on another vehicle's bed, leaving its rear wheels on the ground (Section 545.409). It is typically illegal to allow a child younger than 18 to ride in a flat-bed trailer; one example of an exemption is if riding in a parade. It is also generally illegal for a truck or tractor to pull a trailer with passengers; though, if the trailer is designed for human habitation, this action is allowed.


The maximum speed for a towing vehicle in Texas is 70 mph on the interstate unless posted otherwise. Under code 545.352, that's only in the daytime; it applies to passenger vehicles and light trucks pulling small trailers less than 26 feet long, carrying a boat, motorcycle or animals. For such small trailers, the nighttime maximum is 65 mph. For other kinds of trailers, such as fifth wheels, the maximum daytime speed is 60 mph, and that maximum drops by 5 mph at night. Common sense trumps the posted speed limit: If it's foggy, make sure to travel at 55, the police can cite people who drive to fast for dangerous driving.